Find your next career opportunity at ONA20

Job seekers, career transitioners, education curious: this is your week! Several sessions and events Oct. 13-16 are focused on career growth—plus we’ve got events and tools for you to connect with organizations that are hiring.

Share your resume with recruiters

Upload your resume to our portal: Recruiters, grad school program managers and fellowship directors participating at ONA20 are reviewing resumes and reaching out to potential candidates with more information. See our full sponsor list to learn more about who’ll receive your information.

Visit the ONA Career Center: This is a free resource open year-round to anyone in the industry, ONA membership not required. We’ve had more than 20 new opportunities listed just in the past week—browse the latest openings and upload your resume for review. (Recruiters: Want to list a role? Contact jessica@journalists.org).

Book meetings with recruiters

Oct. 14 is Career Day on Grip. Recruiters, fellowship directors and grad school professionals looking to fill roles will be on hand to discuss openings and answer questions on the Midway all day. Book one-on-one meetings using ONA20’s Grip networking platform.

You can see who else is attending ONA20 by browsing, or searching by title or interest area, and Grip’s AI will also recommend other attendees with shared interests. Learn more about how to use Grip to network.

Attend these learning and networking sessions

How to Future-Proof Your Career, Oct. 14, 1:15 p.m. ET (17:15 UTC): This session will offer best practices for continuing to grow professionally within the current context of the pandemic.

Opportunity Round Robin, Oct. 14, 2 p.m. ET (18 UTC): Join recruiters on the audio-networking platform High Fidelity to learn more about opportunities and ask questions in a speed-round environment.

Mathison: Where Diversity & Dream Jobs Meet, Oct. 14, 2:45 p.m. ET (18:45 UTC): This one’s for hiring managers! Learn about how Mathison’s platform can transform your newsroom’s hiring and retention practices to be more equitable and inclusive.

ONA20 Career Fair + Student Reception, Oct. 14, 3:30 p.m. ET (19:30 UTC): Connect with recruiters at ONA20 and swap tips with other students and job seekers. This event is generously supported by TEGNA.

Career Advice from the Women’s Leadership Accelerator, Oct. 15, 12:15 p.m. ET (16:15 UTC): Women who have gone through ONA’s Women’s Leadership Accelerator program will share candid advice for navigating your career path and tips for troubleshooting challenges you face in the workplace.

Women’s Leadership Networking Event, Oct. 15, 1 p.m. ET (17 UTC): Immediately after the Women’s Leadership Accelerator session, join a networking event with women in digital journalism. You’ll get a chance to meet women who are working in a range of leadership roles and chat with them about how they got there. Supported by AlleyThis event is aimed at women working in news and open to all people who support women in news, no matter what their gender identity.

Sharpen your personal tech and security portfolio

Learn more about tools to make you a more valuable and secure journalist.

Knight Presents: The SecureDrop Workstation: The Next Generation of SecureDrop, Oct 14, 1:15 p.m. ET (17:15 UTC): Learn about simplified access to SecureDrop, the open-source platform for communicating with anonymous whistleblowers.

Knight Presents: Blacklight: Revealing Who is Tracking You Online, Oct 14, 2 p.m. ET (18 UTC): Enter the address of any website, and Blacklight will scan it and reveal the specific user-tracking technologies on the site—and who’s getting your data. You may be surprised at what you learn.

Cover Your Assets: How Not to Get Hacked & Other Useful Security Tips, Oct 15, 10:30 a.m. ET (14:30 UTC): Join seasoned security experts to learn how a new cybersecurity toolkit can help you better manage risks and reduce the likelihood and impact their exploitation can have on your work and reputation.

Bolster Your Digital Safety: An Anti-Hacking, Anti-Doxing Workshop, Oct 15, 11:45 a.m. ET (15:45 UTC): Join this hands-on workshop to learn how to outsmart trolls by auditing your social media accounts, tightening your privacy settings and tracking down your personal info so you can maintain the public profile you need to do your job.

And revisit these sessions from earlier in the conference anytime for more tips:

On the Ground in 2020: Before, During and After Unrest: Learn practical safety and trauma advice for journalists on the ground in potentially hostile environments.

Reporting as Journalists of Color: Why We Need to Add “Safety” to Our Conversations about Diversity in Our NewsroomsThe lack of representation in newsrooms has consequences on how management handles safety preparedness and psychosocial care after journalists are exposed to race-related trauma. Explore how action can be taken now to increase diversity in the newsroom while also addressing these issues of safety and self-care for journalists of color.